top of page

Cell Phones: Pros And Cons Within Classrooms At Watauga High School

 A phone caddy in Mr. Wright's classroom. Photo Credits: Rosalyn Rabinowitz, Watauga Publishing


Rosalyn Rabinowitz


Throughout the halls of Watauga High School, a modern buzz distracts from the class flow. Cell phones, whether they detract from student engagement or serve as means for a parent’s beckoning call, are a constant topic of conversation throughout the school. Both teachers and students use their phones for various reasons, such as scrolling through social media and maintaining contact with family. Teachers have had to navigate around cell phone use with policies varying from class to class, and many are still wondering which is the best strategy.


“My cell phone policy is ‘out of sight, out of mind’ while I am lecturing,” said Ben Maggard, social studies teacher. “Then when there's free time or students are working on assignments by themselves, they are welcome to have their phones.”


While Maggard’s policy falls under the responsibility of the students, Madame Heather Tedder, French teacher has differing opinions. From her experience, Tedder has learned that it is more beneficial for students to put their phones in the caddy on the wall to stimulate class participation.


“I felt like my teaching was suffering and student engagement was suffering,” Tedder said. “That is why, about two and a half years ago, I started having students put it up, and I would never go back.”


While these teachers may have different standpoints, they are ultimately working towards the same goal: increasing student engagement.


“Some classes do really well and put their phones away and allow the teacher to teach,” said Maggard. “Then in other classes it's the complete opposite.” 


This class-to-class policy in Watauga allows flexibility for teachers to decide what works for their classes. Students also have their own varying opinions about what works best for them in classrooms.


“I have a lot of outside activities and having my phone on me helps me make sure I know everything,” said Jake McTier, 11.


McTier views having his phone with him as a comfort blanket, while Tedder recognizes the pressure on students to constantly be in the know.


"I'm trying to strike a balance. I know that I'm fascinating," here Tedder smiles, "but nothing can override the lure of your notifications. Honestly it's good to have 85 minutes a day where you don't have to have the pressure of being on your phone. Nobody can be like, ‘Why didn't you answer me?’ because you can just say, ‘Oh I was in Madame Tedder's room—she won’t let me have my phone.’”  


Whether students who are allowed their phones in class are feeling comfort or pressure, Maggard believes responsibility is what makes his policy work: responsibility to put phones in the caddy or responsibility to use phones appropriately throughout class. Using phones appropriately in school allows for phones to be included in the learning environment.


“I believe this policy is effective because it gives students a sense of responsibility,” said Maggard. “Like [a student might think,] ‘Okay, I know I need to put my phone away for x amount of time, and then I'll have that privilege later.’”

 


7 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page