top of page

Bryanna Designs Creates a Sustainable Future by Anna Norris

Brianna Anderson's The Mini Tote-Take Me Where You Go Photo cred: Leila Zwetsloot


Anna Norris, Sports Desk Lead for The Watauga Powderhorn


Worldwide, landfills, highway lanes, and oceans are flooded daily with discarded clothing that has been worn only briefly. Pollution from clothing factories rises into the atmosphere, turning once clear blue skies into a haze. Fast fashion brands such as Shien, Temu, and others set the stage for consumers' preferences, often with unintended negative effects on our environment. Former WHS student Brianna Anderson wants to make a difference. 


Brianna Anderson, now a student at NC State, studies fashion and textile design. She is also the founder of Bryanna Designs, a small business specializing in sustainable fashion. 


“The textile industry is the second most polluting and toxic industry next to fossil fuels. Not only is most of the textile process toxic and unethical but the fashion side of the industry is arguably worse,” said Anderson. “With the exponential rise of fast fashion in the last couple of decades, I don’t think many people are aware of what goes into the clothing process.”


Anderson creates and designs upcycled bags, each handmade, taking her 2.5-3 hours. With support from her family and friends, she has started her business outside of classes and her part-time job. 


“I hope to one day grow a brand that I can control every step of the process in. I have always felt grounded in nature and am fascinated with natural dyes and ancient techniques that have been used for centuries to dye textiles and the variety of dye plants found in nature. I wanted to start my own line to make a difference in a way that makes me happy and fulfills my passions even if it’s at a small scale.” Anderson remarked.


Currently focusing on school, Anderson plans to work out any conflicts with her business before she graduates, and then gradually expand. 


“I am currently partnering with Bald Guy Brew to sell my bags at the coffee shops and online. This will help with consistency and getting my products out to more people. I hope to just stick with this for now until I can plan my new designs.” said Anderson.


Anderson's goal is to direct the clothing industry to appreciate and promote the simplicity of handmade and loved clothes. 


“I want to connect people back to the process of clothing and what it takes to make something,” said Anderson. “A lot of time and effort goes into what we wear every day and I hope to shift people's mindsets to care for clothing, and see new life in clothing they don’t like and to take care of it so it lasts.” 


81 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page