top of page

Vaughan Ladd: Future Top Gun by Camryn Pruess

As college approaches, seniors seek and apply for a variety of scholarships to help them pay for or further their education in college. Seniors can apply for an array of scholarships, each of which offers a different amount of money for tuition, housing, or school supplies, and any amount awarded is helpful and worthwhile. 


Vaughan Ladd, senior, had applied for the UNC Chapel Hill's Commanders Scholarship. The Commanders Scholarship is a Type 1, 4 Year Scholarship that offers full tuition and any approved educational fees, up to $900 a year. It provides as a monthly discretionary stipend of $300-500 . Ladd accepted this scholarship and now has a full ride scholarship to Chapel Hillo. However, The Commanders Scholarship comes with conditions.


“In order to keep my scholarship, I have a couple of requirements,” said Ladd. “I must remain in an ROTC course, I must keep a GPA over 2.5, I must be able to pass my PFT (Physical Fitness Test), and I must major under those approved by my scholarship. If I fail to adhere to these requirements, and others, my scholarship could potentially be withdrawn, suspended, or terminated.”


The Type 1 scholarship opens the door to an incredible number of unique opportunities. As Ladd becomes a cadet in the ROTC program, he will be able to participate in AERO Classes, Leadership Labs, Base Visits, and even 15-20 hours of flight training. Outside of that, Ladd is able to help organize volunteer opportunities for the University and participate with his fellow cadets in intramural sports.

 

People usually tend to apply for scholarships that will help further their future career. For Ladd, this was his case as well. 


“I personally pursued this scholarship because I knew that I wanted to be a pilot,” Ladd continued. “One of the best ways for me to accomplish that was through applying to this scholarship. When I received the scholarship and accepted, I was automatically under contract to join the USAF as a Second Lieutenant upon graduation from University.”


For all upcoming seniors, looking into scholarships that relate to your future goals and careers, or even just scholarships to help with cost is largely beneficial in the college world and highly recommended by everyone.


For Ladd, this scholarship is just the beginning of his future. 


“I am beyond excited to begin this part of my journey and can not wait to put my leadership and endurance to the test,” said Ladd.





102 views0 comments

Kommentarer


bottom of page